5 Proofs that DomainSite.com got hacked

August 28, 2006 | In: General, Internet

DomainSite

It seems like DomainSite.com, one of the many domain name registrars on the internet has been hacked a couple of hours ago. Unlike the Microsoft France case which was defaced and had the hackers nicknames, the only message that showed up at DomainSite was:

This domain is for sale, please contact support@name.com if you are interested.

Here is how it all started:

  • Around 1AM (June 28) the first signs of alert popped up with a thread on a popular forum related to domains called NamePros. Proof number 1
  • Half an hour later, and another alarm was released on a webdev forum named DigitalPoint. Proof number 2
  • You can view Proof Number 3 which is a screenshot with the message about the domain being for sale (sorry for the poor screenshot quality, as Shaggy would say: it wasn’t me!).
  • One hour later and someone at DomainSite started cleaning the mess, so instead of the previous message about the domain there was a cPanel error. Proof Number 4
  • A few moments later and there was another change when visiting DomainSite, instead of the cPanel error there was a directory listing. Proof Number 5

At the moment (3AM according to Eastern US timezone) I am writing this post, the site is not accessible so I will leave you with some interesting points:

There are a couple of speculations about what really happened/is happening with DomainSite, a user at the DigitalPoint forum suggested that someone was using a particular hacking technique called “Daws” that means redirecting the index on particular IPs, can it be true?

It makes some sense because there was no error while accessing DomainSite under a proxy, it makes even more sense because people of different countries could/can visit the site with no problems at all, while others can’t, like me…

[tags]domainsite, domain, site, hacked, digitalpoint, namepros[/tags]

Comments are closed.

Categories